Rolling with Role Reversal

Sometimes it’s good to shake up the routine, inject some sizzle into the day , try something new!  Today we shook it up.  On a whim, I handed the teaching reins to Max and said, “Here you go.  You’re the teacher.  You’re in charge.  You get to teach me today!”

And teach me he did.  He took me through the paces of living math and grammar and then we finished reading aloud the book we’ve been working on all week, The Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler.

He handed me the Daily Gram (grammar) sheets and I set about completing the work, making mistakes here and there to ensure that his eagle eye would nab them.  Of course he nabbed them.  And it seemed to make his chest swell when he pointed out that I had misplaced a comma and incorrectly (on purpose) identified the prepositional phrase.

He drug me over to the couch and proceeded with reading two sections from The Further Adventures of Penrose the Mathematical Cat, one about optical illusions, the other about using a trick to add large sums.  Generally he doesn’t like to read out loud, but he seemed to not have any issues while he was in charge.

Finally we took turns reading from E. L. Konigsburg’s book and finished the story of the Kincaid children and their runaway adventure to the Museum of Metropolitan Art in Manhattan.

At least he didn’t ask me to clean out the hamster cage or change the cats’ litter!  We had a good time reversing roles and reflecting on the experience, I’m sure he learned something, too.

Leave a Reply

